About Us

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About Us Image Banner

Our Mission:

The mission of Northshore Utility District is to provide the necessary services to the community in a safe, reliable, economical, and ecologically responsible manner.

To accomplish this goal, the District will:

  • Manage available resources for the best long-term interest of our ratepayers;
  • Provide our employees with a safe and fair work environment that promotes teamwork, professional growth and excellence in performance;
  • Protect the environment through responsible operating practices and public education;
  • Work cooperatively with the community and other municipal service providers.

Northshore Utility District is a special purpose water and sewer utility located at the northeast end of Lake Washington in King County. The District encompasses more than 11,000 acres in parts of Kenmore, Bothell, Juanita, Totem Lake, Kingsgate, Finn Hill, Lake Forest Park and Kirkland and serves more than 74,000 people.

King County Water District Number 79 was formed in 1947.  In 1979, Northeast Lake Washington Sewer District merged with the water district and the combined districts were known as Northeast Lake Washington Sewer and Water District.  Based on customer suggestion, the utility was renamed Northshore Utility District in 1991.  In October 1998, the District moved to its present location at 6830 NE 185th Street, in Kenmore, Washington.

The District gains authority to operate from Title 57 of the Revised Codes of Washington.  Northshore Utility District owns no water or wastewater treatment facilities. Currently, all water is purchased from Seattle Public Utilities. The District contracts with King County Department of Natural Resources for sewage treatment services.

The District serves approximately 21,952 water customers and 21,608 sewer customers.  We currently maintain 259 miles of sewer collection pipe with 10 lift stations and 282 miles of water main with three water pump stations.  We have eight water storage facilities with a combined capacity of 29 million gallons.

Northshore Utility District is governed by a five-member Board of Commissioners who are elected for staggered six-year terms by ratepayers. Daily operations of the District are the responsibilities of the General Manager and a staff of approximately fifty employees. There are four departments under the General Manager.

Northshore Utility District is a political subdivision of the state, just like a Town or a County.  All income is received either as user fees from customers or connection fees from developers. In general, user fees pay for operating expenses while connection fees pay for capital improvements.  Northshore Utility District receives no tax money.

Related Links: